DRIED BEEF COMES IN A JAR

4 Jun

16 days until vacation! It’s starting to take priority in my mind… I have one more exciting event before vacation and then it’s pretty much just beach mania until then. That exciting event is going to Vintage Indiana this Saturday with Leah!! I’ve been the past 2 years (2 years ago with Leah and last year with Mom since Leah was pregnant!) and I’m really looking forward for my 3rd visit. It’s always a fun time and you get to try sooo many good wines in one day. Excellent experience. 🙂

Yesterday was…another day. Nothing special or extraordinary, nothing too bad or rough, just a workday interspersed with exercising and good food. 🙂 Gazelle in the morning and Zach and I cranked out our Mudderling workout after work (1.36 miles, 297 calories, 52 minutes). I’m telling you, we’re getting better at it, each time I feel like I can do the movements stronger and longer than before! We were good and hungry when we were done and thankfully dinner was ready!

IMG_1453

I had put this soup in the crockpot at nap-time and it was a pretty simple one. Double-Cheese Cauliflower Soup from Fix-it and Forget-It. I cut up a cauliflower into pieces and brought it + water to boiling on the stove. Put 1/3 less fat cream cheese + american process cheese into the crockpot and poured the now hot water and cauliflower over it. Stirred this up until the cheese was melted then mixed in potato flakes and shredded dried beef.

IMG_1452

 

This was the first time I have ever bought dried beef, I didn’t even know where to find it at the store! It has a strong, salty flavor and really added something special to the soup.

IMG_1454

I put pepper on my soup but it didn’t need even a dash of salt with that dried beef in there! We really liked this and Zach had a big bowl of seconds.

IMG_1455

We ate and started Apocalypse Now but didn’t watch it for long before I set out on a run. Just a short run, but I still wanted to get a run in. It’s good for me to practice running on the same days as other workouts to get me Mudder ready! It’s also about the best calorie torcher there is and vacation is coming. Also the more often I run, the faster I get and more endurance I acquire…it’s just all around good! I ran 1.5 miles in 15:34 (160 calories) and was so glad I made myself go do it. From that point on it was reading and bedtime. I’ve been spoiled this week with my earliest brothers being on vacation and I’ve been able to sleep an extra 20 minutes each morning! It’s been sooo nice. I thought I’d take a picture of this butcher paper that is dominating a large amount of wall space in my front living room:

IMG_1456

 

It’s my Mudder training calendar! I am not filling in the days ahead of time because I never know just how I’ll feel on a given day, if I want to switch up cardio and strength days or if I need an unexpected rest day, etc. Instead each morning I fill in what I did the day before and it helps me keep track of how well I am varying running, strength, boot camp and alternate cardio. I will rarely write the word REST on a day, but to me any day that my sole exercise is walking, I consider that a rest day. Just 3 and 1/2 months to go!

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – nectarine, 1 slice cinnamon raisin toast, spoon of PB
  • Lunch – curried veggie bowl (I sauteed onion, red pepper, green pepper, mushrooms and cherry tomatoes with curry powder. Fantastic and filling!)
  • Supper – soup, spoon of PB (as always when I am mostly snack-free I reach for a small spoon and a jar of PB…just one spoonful though, that’s the rule!)

496/1,400 miles. 95.5/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

