PIE IS NOT ALWAYS A DESSERT

3 Jun

It was beyond nice to be able to be at my church on Sunday. We had SUCH a busy month in May and were gone almost every single Sunday. It was wonderful to be there, hearing the Word preached and being surrounded by loving, real people. Sunday was pretty busy as well, it was gorgeous out but we had a lot to do! Two different grocery shopping trips, cleaning up the house, squeezing in a walk, helping Zach’s mom organize the office, preparing dinner…we barely sat down before 7pm! Sunday was mostly a rest day on the exercise front but Mom and I did take a walk on the Greenway for around 50 minutes. I can NOT get my Fitbit to sync right now for the life of me so I don’t know calories and mileage but I am going to estimate that it was at least 2.5 miles.

Dinner was a joint effort by both Zach and me. We made Crab-Asparagus Pie from The Treasury of Creative Cooking. This was a unique dish that turned out really well! We teamed up and chopped onion and asparagus and cooked them on the stovetop, shredded crab and greased a pie dish.

IMG_1443

The crab + onion + asparagus were layered into the dish

IMG_1445

and covered with a mix of shredded parmesan and monterey jack cheese. In a bowl I mixed flour, butter, baking powder, salt, almond milk and eggs and this was poured over the dish.

IMG_1446

Popped it in the oven for half an hour until the crust was done and that was it!

IMG_1447

It sure didn’t come out like pie, it was a gooey mess.

IMG_1449

But it was a delicious gooey mess! We both had seconds of this and of course I was glad that there would still be leftovers too.

IMG_1448 IMG_1450

We ate and caught up on more of How I Met Your Mother. We are getting dangerously close to the end of the last season…I’m going to be so sad! The night ended with a drive and a snack and a decent bed-time.

Sunday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1 slice of french toast, blackberries
  • Lunch – PB&J banana wrap
  • Supper – 1 1/2 pieces crab-aspargus pie, small mixer (like a blizzard) from Culvers shared with Zach since it wasn’t as small as I thought it would be!

Monday dawned gloomy and gray but I was full of energy! I always am after such a healthy, productive weekend. 🙂 Gazelle in the morning, easy workday (several kids on vacation) and despite threatening storm clouds Zach and I went for a run after work. We hit the Greenway and I wanted to do 2 miles in under 20 minutes. We ran it in 19:36. Guess that’s the time to beat next time we work on speed for 2 miles! We went to the gym after running to try out the outdoor area. It was the first time I had been out there and we worked on the monkey bars, tire flipping and hurdle jumping. The tires were huge and heavy! The monkey bars were ADULT monkey bars and they were really high off the ground, really far apart and the individual bars were enormous. I made it across but it was challenging! Definitely need to make doing these a regular thing. My hands are starting to develop callouses and rip a little!! 🙂 This is a good thing.

I went to Mom and Dad’s after the workout armed with some leftovers for a Bachelorette marathon. I ate leftover crab and asparagus pie while catching up on Sunday’s episode and then Mom and I watched the Monday night episode in real time. This resulted in my getting home later than usual for a week night and going straight to bed! Pressing on with Tuesday now and down to a mere 17 days on the vacation countdown!!! AHHH!!!! Have I mentioned what we’re doing? If not- we’ll be heading to West Palm Beach with Hillary on June 20th, Friday afternoon. We’ll be there together until the next Sunday morning. Then we take Hillary to the airport, she flies home, and Zach and I have a night alone in Clearwater. The next day we’ll head to Georgia and be staying with Kori for the next 5 days until finally we come home Saturday, July 5th. Can’t. Wait. !!!!!!

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – apple oatmeal (rolled oats w/diced apple & PB)
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – leftover crab-asparagus pie, watermelon

492/1,400 miles. 94/150 running miles.

 

Leave a Reply

