MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND UPDATE

24 May

What fun we are having!! Memorial Day weekend has been nothing but a blast so far and you can bet I am dying of excitement to see Kori tomorrow!! Currently Zach and John are playing some really old card game called “Mille Bornes” and Heather is trying to put inconsolable baby Matilda to sleep. She doesn’t like going to bed but man is she cute! 🙂 So yesterday I got in my gazelle time in the morning and I also did a challenge that I issued myself. Since I knew the second half of the day would be pretty inactive I decided that the morning needed some “mudder training” and I had to do 100 pushups before we left. Obviously I didn’t do them all at once but honestly it wasn’t as difficult to squeeze them in as I thought, I still had an hour to spare! I am thinking I need to start issuing pushup challenges more often and that will definitely help build upper body strength.

We hit the road at 12:30 and besides a little traffic had no trouble getting down to Knoxville. We talked, laughed, sang, played games and I even read out loud to Zach from one of the books he’s reading! It was so exciting to get to see Heather, John and Matilda. Matty-Jo even let me hold her for a little bit before she got fussy. 🙂 She’s not too thrilled with anyone who’s not mommy holding her but when Heather has her she is as content as can be…except for when it’s bedtime. With her red hair, blue eyes and petite frame she is an absolute doll-baby. Also she’s the closest thing I’ll get to a niece so it’s fun to be “Uncle Zach and Aunt Jordan” to a little person. 🙂

They had already eaten but John was kind enough to whip us up a dinner and it was fantastic! I didn’t take a picture but it was a curry stir-fry with cauliflower, onion, carrots and mushrooms. We topped it with sea salt, pepper, avocado and red pepper flakes and it was a bowl of spicy, delicious goodness! We told John it was restaurant worthy. 🙂 After dinner (and after Matilda got down) the four of us played Phase 10 and had wine and it was so lovely to be on vacation. We weren’t up too much past 10:30 since we all have the bedtime of older folks typically, but that was fine because we had lots going on the next day!

Friday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1 slice cinnamon raisin toast, yogurt w/strawberries
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – curry veggie bowl, 1/2 pkg turkey (Zach and I split this right before bed because we got a little hungry), 2 glasses wine

440.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

