SOMETIMES I SAY “WHOOPS”

17 May

Sometimes I do a great job at following my “rules”, other times…I don’t. Whoops. This was evidenced in my having Friday night drinks and a less than healthy “dinner”. You’ll see what I mean. 🙂 First on Friday I got 18 minutes of my gazelle time in in the morning. I didn’t have time for more because I was so busy trying to accomplish a lot in the 2 hours of work before my sub got there. Once Kathy arrived I headed to my Habitat for Humanity build site and we got started working on a very dreary, chilly and somewhat rainy May day. The women I worked with the majority of the day and I were tackling the garage project. First we spent a good deal of time ripping all the siding off of it.

DSCF0068

DSCF0072

That was a pretty big job that took most of the morning. It rained on us some but was mostly sprinkles so it didn’t hinder us too much! Next we started putting up insulating sheets on the whole garage. This is the stuff that will be under the new siding to help insulate the garage. We were working with this huge roll of sheeting that was awkward and heavy and a lot of humor was involved. We used slap tackers (a staple gun-like tool that you smack the wall hard with and it staples it in) to get the sheeting to stay. Then had to go around with box cutters to trim the sheeting to fit and place hammer blue-circled nails on all the studs to make them visible. I didn’t do any hammering because I was a slap tacker person and that tool was fun! 🙂 I spent a lot of time on the ladder as well since I am mostly fearless.

DSCF0074

Our first wall wasn’t so smooth but the next one turned out much better! We broke for lunch and had some delicious brownies (I ate a small sliver) and a pork/beans/green beans stew. After lunch we got some more work in and took some pictures of the crew-

DSCF0078 DSCF0080 DSCF0084 DSCF0085

We were supposed to work until 3 but around 2 it started POURING. Everyone huddled in the garage while me and a few others stayed outside to finish the last little area we hadn’t done. I was determined to finish what we’d started! After that we called it a day. The rain just wasn’t letting up. At least we got the garage done!

DSCF0087

(Can you tell how much smoother the wall on the right, our second attempt, turned out?) This was a great experience and I would definitely do it again, especially on a nice day. 🙂 I would love to be a part of working on the house as well! We got to meet Will, the man who is benefitting from this house, and it was nice to see who we were helping out. A worthy cause indeed.

I was going to do TRX Friday evening but since I was done so early I decided to go ahead and hit the gym in the late afternoon. I did 40 minutes (3 miles, 286 calories). I ran a mile, walked some, ran a fast half a mile and then walked at an incline. When I got home from the gym I relaxed with Netflix….and a glass of wine. That’s the “whoops” part. It was just calling my name after a busy, hard-working, wet day! This resulted in Zach and I going to Locker Room for dinner (yes, they do serve food haha) where I had cheese fries and 2 cocktails. We played “Head’s Up” together from our seats and had so much fun just the two of us. Then we stopped by Mom and Dad’s and watched a funny prank show and then ended up having Concannon’s cheesecake and watching How I Met Your Mother. I’m not winning any health points for the evening…BUT we had a good time. 🙂 Today’s been busy so far and we’ll be heading to Ohio tonight to stay all night because tomorrow we’re volunteering at a Tough Mudder! More on that later.

Friday’s Food Journal: (told you I would keep it even if it was messy some days…)

  • Breakfast – 3 slices turkey bacon, 1 slice french toast
  • Lunch – pork/beans/green beans stew, small sliver of brownie
  • Supper – cheese fries, cheesecake, 1 glass of wine, 2 cocktails

412/1,400 miles. 87.5/150 running miles.

 

Leave a Reply

