GET IN THE ZONE

15 May

I am hoping this rainy, dreary weather clears up a little by tomorrow because it’s going to be a big day for me. I am working with a team of women from my church to help build a Habitat for Humanity house. We’ve been fundraising for weeks (I just met my goal this week!) and tomorrow we’ll build from 9am to 3pm. I have Kathy coming to do daycare and I’m really looking forward to this “day off”. I think it will be a great and worthwhile project. 🙂

Yesterday I finally returned to my gym! With gazelle, spin class and running club I got a good amount of exercise in all around. I was only at spin for 57 minutes (21.7 miles, 336 calories) before I had to come home and eat the incredible dinner Zach fixed. He made calzones from The Treasury of Creative Cooking and they were both impressive looking and great tasting!

IMG_0814

I didn’t pay any attention to the recipe since he picked it out and did all the prep but I know the gist of the filling: green peppers, lean ground beef, onions, mushrooms, fresh basil, fresh oregano, S+P, red pepper flakes, feta cheese and parmigiano reggiano. He is so adorable that he takes pictures of the process for my blog…

IMG_0804 IMG_0809 IMG_0810 IMG_0812 IMG_0813

He used a frozen (then thawed) bread dough and did a great job shaping the calzones, they looked so cool! We both agreed that they would be absolutely perfect with a marinara dipping sauce. Must remember that for next time.

IMG_0816

These were huge and one was very filling. It was so nice coming home and being able to eat right away. 🙂 Best of all Zach always loves cooking and is so eager to help!

IMG_0817

Running club was inside our church’s gym since it was so rainy out. I stuck with a woman who is on a run/walk pattern so I am not counting my distance towards any running miles since we only ran in spurts. She did great though and it’s fun seeing people make progress. In the 30 minutes we got almost 2 miles in. We had a meeting after run club to plan the 5k that’s coming up in a few weeks and then Zach and I picked up a snack. It was a Netflix then reading in bed kind of evening and now it’s another gray and rainy day out there. Almost the weekend!

Wednesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – pancakes
  • Lunch – broccoli w/cheese, PB
  • Supper – calzone
  • Snack – small blizzard

404.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

