DRAGON BOATS AND CHAMPAGNE BRUNCH

14 May

I had to go back and see what the last thing I even blogged about South Carolina was! Looks like I am on South Carolina Saturday now. So I woke up that morning well before Christine (if you remember, she likes to sleep in) so I jogged to a nearby supermarket. I took my huge beach bag that I use as one of my airplane carry-ons with me and I as I walked around the store stuffing things into I probably looked like I was planning on stealing everything! I didn’t though. I paid for it all. 🙂 What was I getting? The tools to make a surprise brunch for my best friend-

IMG_0317

🙂 I got strawberry danishes, raspberries, a candle, nail polish and champagne with 2 different juices to use as mixers – strawberry/kiwi and orange/pineapple. She loved it!

IMG_0319

We spent the next couple of hours hanging out on that balcony talking, laughing, making videos, listening to music, painting our nails with the new polish and generally having about the best time that two best friends could! It was probably my favorite part of the trip. 🙂 When we finally scraped ourselves up off the concrete we got ready for the day and hit the road.

IMG_0340 IMG_0360

It was the day for me to meet all of Christine’s nursing friends and they were all at…

IMG_0372

the lake! We were supposed to go watch dragon boat racing but we only got their for the verrrry end of it.

IMG_0383

Ah well, that wasn’t really the highlight anyway. 🙂 We took a few pictures down at the lake before heading to her friend’s lake house.

IMG_0386 IMG_0398 IMG_0407

At the house I got to finally meet several girls who I have heard a lot about and we were fast friends. 🙂

IMG_0420 IMG_0422 IMG_0426

The rest of the afternoon and evening was spent with much talking, laughing, music and a little splashing around…

DSCF0012 DSCF0015 DSCF0018

By the few of us who were willing to brave the cold and jump in! They made it sound like it would be FREEZING but it really wasn’t that bad. Christine and I stayed in playing around for quite awhile.

DSCF0017 DSCF0026 DSCF0054 DSCF0058 DSCF0065

I had a lot of fun getting to know everyone and it was getting late by the time we finally headed back to Greenville and crashed for the night. We had to get some sleep though because we had a big day the next morning.

-For a couple of real time things: Yesterday I did the gazelle and Mom and I managed to squeeze in a Greenway walk after work between thunder showers (31 minutes, 161 calories, 1.8 miles). After the walk we went to her house where I helped prepare dinner. Mom made a chicken and green chile fettucine while I made herby pull apart bread. The meal was completed with grilled zucchini + orange peppers.

IMG_0801 IMG_0802

This was a fantastic dinner! The pasta was excellent with the sauce made from diced tomatoes + green chiles + mushrooms + chicken+ cheese and I loved it so much I had seconds. That bread is always good too, one of the few breads I eat with dinner. After dinner we all played Catchphrase and then Zach and I checked out the new establishment in town- Culvers! I don’t love that we have another fast food chain as opposed to a new local restaurant but I do love custard… In fact it’s probably not a good thing that this opened so close to my house, haha! We each got a custard snack (and Zach got cheese curds, silly guy) and it was delicious. A tasty night for sure. 🙂

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – PB&J banana wrap
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – bread, veggies, 2 serv. chx. pasta
  • Snack – small sundae

394.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

