MOTHER’S DAY AND A HOME-COOKED MEAL

13 May

Wow. I haven’t posted a home-cooked (by me) meal on here in…oh forever? Let’s remedy that! Last night’s dinner came from Fix-It and Forget-It Slow Cooker Magic and it really did smell magical all day. In my crockpot for the Ham and Scalloped Potatoes went a layer of potatoes + ham + onions, S+P, cheddar cheese then repeat. Over top of all of it went cream of celery soup and that was it! Besides the peeling potatoes this was extremely easy to throw together.

IMG_0795

 

I did my booty call in the morning, prepped dinner at nap time and…missed TRX after work. Around 3:30pm I got a feeling from the past that was all too familiar- drowsiness. Every year I think I have escaped it and then it surprises me. It used to be about every April that some type of allergy would affect me and for a few weeks I would be so dead on my feet every day that it felt like I was on sleeping medication. Almost to the point where my eyes were so heavy I could barely force them open. I even got several blood tests run the first spring we were married because I was so tired I was practically incapacitated. It’s since gotten much better (I think changing diet and exercise has helped) but it still is tough for a few weeks. Last year I really did think I escaped it because April came and went with no incident and then suddenly in May, BAM! I think it was because we had such a late spring and the same thing is happening again this year. I was so fatigued when I got off work that I barely made it through a shower. Thankfully dinner was already prepared.

IMG_0798

I had 2 bowls of this wonderful meal and Pirate Jack was wishing he could have at least one!

IMG_0796

Zach especially really loved this one and was eating so much of it that I was afraid we wouldn’t even have leftovers. (We do.)

IMG_0799

This was a good one. I am always pleased when they taste as good as they smell and I’d make this again for sure.

IMG_0800

After dinner Zach was meeting with a friend for a bit and I had worked up enough energy to drag myself on a walk in our neighborhood; book in hand of course. I got a good 51 minutes (284 calories, 3.16 miles) in and it was a beautiful evening for being outdoors. Zach and I ended the night with Netflix and a snack, what else is there? 😉

I suppose I need to include Mother’s Day in this post too because I just remembered I still have South Carolina posts to write! Yikes am I behind. So for Mother’s Day Zach and I went to a different church with Mom and Dad than we all usually go to. We headed to Middletown, IN along with a good chunk of Dad’s family to hear my cousin Andrew preach. He and his wife (and adorable baby) live down in Kentucky but were up here for revival and it was really cool to get to hear him speak. He did a great job with a really good message that I found totally applicable. It was nice to have so much family together, especially on Mother’s Day, so we snapped some family pictures of course.

IMG_0701

After church we came home and Zach and I took Vicki to Barn Brasserie for Mother’s Day brunch!

IMG_0703 IMG_0706

Vicki and Zach both got the lemon blueberry pancakes with bacon (which were really good) and Ron and I both got the asparagus melt (which was really great!).

IMG_0707

On rye bread there was asparagus, barn sauce, swiss cheese and a runny egg with a side of duck fat frites. Brunch heaven. Have I mentioned how glad I am that Barn is in Muncie? 🙂 After brunch we went to Ron and Vicki’s to take Mother’s Day photos on the tripod-

IMG_0712 IMG_0716

There were some silly ones as well…

IMG_0720 IMG_0728 IMG_0733 IMG_0738

Glad that that mother let me have her wonderful son. 🙂

 

IMG_0747

 

Next on the M-Day agenda was taking my mom to Tonne for some delicious riesling.

IMG_0755

It has been far too long since we’ve been able to sit out on the patio there. So nice to be outside again! Even if it was a bit windy… After the wine Mom, Dad, Zach and I headed to Zionsville to the Loft at Trader’s Point Creamery.

IMG_0758

It didn’t seem like it had been that long since our last visit but the last time we were there was for Zach’s birthday in 2012! Crazy how time flies. Our food there was absolutely wonderful and I never expect anything less from this awesome place.

IMG_0761 IMG_0762

I got their chicken with a salad made of arugula, apples, potatoes, herbed ranch, cornbread panzanella and jowl bacon.

IMG_0760

 

Yes. It was as incredible as it looks/sounds. The chicken especially was cooked so perfectly that I didn’t let a single morsel go to waste. 🙂 One of the best parts about the Loft? The dessert. Specifically, the ice cream.

IMG_0764

Zach and I shared (with me eating more) this toffee crunch sundae. The toffee is good, the chocolate and carmel syrups excellent, but nothing holds a candle to that ice cream. The texture, the flavor…it’s perfect! No surprise there considering the restaurant is AT the dairy. Mmmmm. Pictures followed.

IMG_0766 IMG_0774 IMG_0783

It was a wonderful mother’s day all around and we even got to witness some beautiful rainbows on the way home!

IMG_0792

Now it’s Tuesday and since I am aware that my weird allergies are here I can do more to stave them off- move around consistently, drink more water in the afternoon and take an allergy pill (though I am never sure how much those are helping).

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – blueberry oatmeal
  • Lunch – egg white scramble w/ham (I usually make it vegetarian but had extra ham from dinner prep!), PB
  • Supper – 2 servings ham & scalloped potatoes
  • Snack – 1 pc. cake from Concannon’s 

391.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

