LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL

12 May

Allright. This past weekend was fun and wonderful and indulgent and now I have got to pull it together! Besides one exciting workout accomplishment the weekend involved very little physical activity and plenty of eating and drinking activity. I’ve got a trip to Knoxville (our annual Memorial Day weekend trip) coming up in 2 weeks and vacation in a mere 39 days. A beach vacation no less! We’re heading to West Palm Beach with our friend Hillary for a full week and then we’ll be spending the second week in Georgia with Kori. I’m implementing a no drinks until Memorial Day weekend rule now as well as committing to keep a food journal on here every single day until vacation. Even on the weekends… 🙂

So let’s talk about this great weekend that was had! Friday I did 30 minutes on the gazelle but that was it because I skipped the gym after work in favor of having a date with Zach. We hung out on the roof for awhile enjoying a pleasant evening and then decided to go somewhere new for a drink. It was nice out so I wanted a patio to be included and this led us to Mulligan’s- a little bar on one of Muncie’s golf courses. It’s nothing fancy but it was nice to be outside and go somewhere different. Besides my wine was really cheap there! Mom and Dad came out and met us for a drink.

IMG_0644 IMG_0646

IMG_0647

I’m so thankful for weather that allows us patio time again! Zach and I walked on the golf course some

IMG_0653

 

before picking up Fazoli’s and coming home to watch Life is Beautiful on Netflix. It’s a foreign film that’s on the top 250 list and it was SO good! It was a WWII era movie that was surprisingly funny but also very meaningful and poignant. Loved it. We only watched half Friday night though because we had to get to bed for a race in the morning!

Two years ago I ran the Lisa’s Run 5k with Leah and had a goal of finishing it in under 30 minutes which I did by about 8 seconds. I also won 2nd place in my age group. This year Zach ran with me and I had a goal of running it faster than the last time I ran it.

IMG_0658

I haven’t ran much since I got home from South Carolina so I wasn’t sure how it would go. The morning was perfect for a run- sunny, not too windy, cool but not cold and we had beautiful scenery running in the country. This was not the easiest race I’ve ever ran, probably due to the fact that I didn’t really prepare for it at all, but it WAS the fastest race I have ran! It was hard sometimes and I wanted to slow down but I finished in 29:19 which is a new PR for a timed 5k.

IMG_0663

I have ran faster on the treadmill but never outside in a race. I was so pleased and pretty surprised! I was even more surprised when I finished 2nd in my age group (20-29) again! Now this is a very small race and there could not have been more than 7 people in my age category, but still I was excited to get a plaque. 🙂

IMG_0669

Zach was so sweet to run with me the whole time when he could have just taken off and ran his own race for a good time. I don’t know if I could have beaten myself without him!

IMG_0665

After the race we had a busy afternoon of menu planning, grocery shopping, cleaning, lunch (eaten while finishing Life is Beautiful) and showers. Then it was time for fun. We drove to Noblesville to our friends Tim and Jami’s apartment where we left our car and rode with them to downtown Indy. The day’s excursion?

IMG_0688

The Indy brew bus. This is a small bus that you buy tickets for and it drives you around to 4 different local craft breweries. You get to spend about 30 minutes at each one hanging out and doing samplings. A little over a year ago I never would have been down for a beer day but I have come a long way (though I was super burned out on beer by the end). Our first stop was Sun King-

IMG_0678

Where we tasted several good beers and it was packed! Sun King has really taken off lately and is so mass produced that their brewery is not exactly an intimate experience. I would much rather hang out at the next place-

IMG_0679

Bier Brewery was awesome! I tried several samples here and liked one so much that I got a pint of it! You didn’t have to finish the pint there, you could take it on the bus with you which was cool. This place had a really nice outdoor area in the back with a huge space for playing cornhole and lots of seating. This is definitely a place I would go back to. Next up was Flat 12.

IMG_0687

Zach and I had been here before and I was starting to slow down on the amount I tasted at this point but I still had some good stuff here. At the last brewery, Fountain Square, I only tasted 2 samples. This was a lot different then a wine trail would have been for me. I would taste every wine possible at each stop and even if I didn’t love it I would still have happily tried it. With beer though the ones I didn’t like I ABSOLUTELY didn’t like and would have Zach finish them and I was also pickier about which ones I tried. It was fun though! We had the bus leave us in the Fountain Square area and the four of us went to dinner at Thunderbird!! I went there a few weeks back with Leah just for drinks but I knew I would want to eat food at this place sometime and I was thrilled everyone agreed with me.

IMG_0696

Thunderbird does classy comfort food and it was incredible. Tim and Jami above with their 3 dishes they shared and here Zach and I are with 3 dishes as well!

IMG_0697

Biscuits and gravy, shrimp and grits and mac and cheese. Oh thank you. Surprisingly (especially if you know me!) the mac and cheese was my least favorite! Zach agreed. We just didn’t think it was all that flavorful, especially compared to the incredible shrimp and grits and biscuits and gravy. Good food, good drinks, great time. 🙂

IMG_0699

By the time we got home from Tim and Jami’s it was 11pm and we fell asleep quickly but what a fun day we had! I’ll save Mother’s Day for another post, this one is getting a bit long. 🙂

387/1,400 miles. 83.5/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

