WHAT WILL THE EVENING BRING?

11 Apr

I love you, Friday. 🙂 I am so happy that another weekend is here! This Friday brings both a bummer and something fun. Zach left this morning for a caving trip that he goes on every year and won’t be back until late tomorrow night. I LOVE caving and always wish that I could go but with daycare it just doesn’t work out. So I will be missing him but tonight I am doing fun, surprise things with Mom and Dad! When I told Mom I would alone this weekend she came up with some things she wanted us to do tonight but I have no idea what those things are. I love surprises though.

Yesterday I did gazelle in the morning and went for a walk on the Greenway with Mom after work (31 minutes, 1.53 miles and 174 calories). It was SO gorgeous out! One of our first days that hit 70 degrees and the first time I put on shorts to be outside in over 5 months!! I let the kids play outside all afternoon and it was glorious. When I got back from work I threw dinner together for Zach and I. In one pan I sautéed stir fry veggies in a little Tamari to make a side dish. My main dish came from Easy Dinners, Healthy Recipes.

IMG_9903

This was called Sherried Pork and it turned out great!! I sliced up pork loin and flattened it (I really need to purchase a meat mallet, my rolling pin wasn’t quite up to the task). The pork was dipped in a bowl of egg + almond milk, then in a bowl of crushed cornflakes + garlic powder to form a crust. I cooked the pork in a skillet with butter until both sides were browned and it was cooked through! The pork was removed and kept warm and I used the same skillet to make a sauce with sherry + water + chicken bouillon granules + pepper. Pour some sauce over pork and serve!

IMG_9904

You can’t really see the sauce, but it was there all the same making the pork taste delicious! Definitely a make-again dish.

IMG_9905

After dinner Zach had to run to soccer (such a big part of our lives) and I went over to Sam and Kathy’s (my pastor and his wife, who is also my sub!) for a question and answer session. I write down lots of questions as I read through the Bible and every so often get together with Sam to talk about them, I absolutely love it. Gaining knowledge about my God is the most worthwhile pursuit there is!

This morning Vicki is running the daycare while I just linger inside to lend a helping hand if needed. She has been in training to become a sub for me as well and is doing great! Plus it’s nice because I kind of feel like I have the morning off. 🙂 Looking forward to tonight!

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – pancakes
  • Lunch – broccoli + cauliflower w/cheese, yogurt w/jam
  • Supper – veggies, pork

272.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

