IT’S CHILI, IT’S MACARONI, IT’S…BOTH!

8 Apr

Ahhh, so nice to have a good, healthy day on Monday. My body needed it! And no chips or queso involved. 😉 Dinner was put in the crockpot at nap time, I did gazelle in the morning and had an unfortunately short TRX. It’s supposed to be 5:30 to 6:15 always but apparently they started at 5:20 last night. This might have been all right except for the fact that I got off work 4 minutes LATE and didn’t even get to the gym until 5:40. Then on top of that since they had started early class ended at 6:05. I got gypped. :/ Ah well, I made the most of my 25 minutes!

When I got home we had Bible study and almost everyone commented on how good dinner smelled! It really did smell delicious and it was a pretty simple one to put together. I made Chili Mac from Best of Country: Slow Cooker Recipes and it mostly involved vegetable prep. During nap I put the following into my crockpot-

  • ground beef (cooked and drained)
  • 2 cans of hot chili beans
  • 2 chopped green peppers

IMG_9896

  • chopped onion
  • chopped celery
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • envelope of chili seasoning
  • chopped garlic

Once Bible study was over I cooked elbow macaroni and stirred this into the crockpot and it made chili mac!

IMG_9898

We ate this topped with some FAGE and it was good. I liked it, Zach loved it! He said multiple times how good and flavorful it was. He is a bigger fan of pasta topped with a semi-sweet chili than I am so that makes sense.

IMG_9901

I did enjoy it though and when I heat up some leftovers (of which we have plenty!) I think I will grate some cheese over the top.

IMG_9900

Guess what went with dinner? Walking Dead of course. 🙂 Zach went to his parent’s to watch the NCAA championship game (a 7 vs an 8 for the title, crazy!) and I read a little and went to bed. Ready for more healthy days to follow!

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – banana w/PB + honey, a few slices of turkey sausage
  • Lunch – very small amount of leftover pasta from last week, crackers w/PB 
  • Supper – chili mac 

254/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

