BUTTERNUT’S NOT ALL BAD

18 Mar

I always feel so happy with good weekends. Saturday was wonderful and then Sunday was too! Church was great Sunday morning. It was so nice to be back after having missed last week’s due to being in Colorado and it felt like the message was tailor-made for me. Very impacting. Zach and I came home to make some lunch creations and finally finished The Good, the Bad and the Ugly…like 2 weeks later. I suppose it’s one you have to see, but no more westerns for me for awhile!

Gym time was next for just 34 minutes on the treadmill. I was feeling pretty tired (I think allergy season is kicking in…noooo!) but I knew it would be better to go and do something. I walked for 2.01 miles and burned 164 calories. Then Zach and I got some grocery shopping done, borrowed some more movies off our “must watch” list from Ryan and came home to fix dinner together. Do you remember how last week I had leftover chili stuff over spaghetti squash? Well Zach’s first attempt to bring me spaghetti squash from the store resulted in him showing up with butternut squash. This means that I had to find a recipe to incorporate butternut squash for this week and that recipe was Butternut Squash and Parmesan Bread Pudding. Sounds a little weird right? I thought so too but we got started on the prep work.

IMG_9631 IMG_9632 IMG_9633

The butternut squash roasted in the oven while onion and garlic sautéed stovetop and I mixed all the other ingredients into a bowl. Veggies were added along with day-old french bread and the whole thing sat for 10 minutes before going into the oven to bake!

IMG_9634

I don’t always love butternut squash because it can be too sweet for me but I was eager to try this dish that smelled so delicious.

IMG_9636

It was excellent!!! Should I ever doubt Way to Cook Vegetarian? The answer is no. I would totally make this again!

IMG_9637 IMG_9638

Zach and I both had seconds and I was overly pleased with this very unique creation. I also had visions of how delicious this savory bread pudding could be if I turned it sweet with say…apples + sugar + cinnamon….yum.

After dinner we went to a Sunday night class our church was having about surrender and I was so glad we went. It was a really good, informative class and I felt so renewed after spending so much time around people who love God and want to learn more. The night ended with an actual end- the end of Breaking Bad! We finally finished the show! It was both the perfect ending and a total let-down at the same time. Mostly because we couldn’t believe one of our favorite shows was actually over. They did a good job wrapping it up though! I had a tasty Concannon’s treat during our show and I chalked Sunday up as another wonderful day.

Sunday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast- 1 slice of Ezekiel cinnamon raisin toast
  • Lunch – tortilla chips, PB&J banana wrap
  • Supper- 2 servings butternut bread pudding
  • Snack – cookie sandwich

198/1,400 miles.

One Response to “BUTTERNUT’S NOT ALL BAD”

  1. adanelz6 March 18, 2014 at 11:36 am #

    I’ve been making a lot of butternut recipes! Such yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

