A GREAT DEAL ON GREAT FOOD!

17 Mar

It was great to go to yoga on Saturday morning! Just missing it one time already means that it had been 2 weeks since my last yoga class and my level of flexibility sure could tell. We did dandasana, supine crow, chair, a few twists, rainbow and some core poses. It was challenging in such a great way. I’ve decided that yoga once a week is not enough for me anymore. I want to get even more flexible and I think that means it needs to be incorporated more. My plan is for one weekday afternoon (most likely Tuesdays) to do the Insanity yoga session or a yoga flow off of one of my yoga DVD’s. I think that this will really help increase my ability to do poses and deeper stretches!

After yoga I showered and then went to the Greenway with Mom. It was a beautiful, cloudless day and while it didn’t get as warm as forecasted, we walked in an area where the trees protected us from the wind mostly. We enjoyed the fact that we had plenty of time and we were out for 53 minutes (3.3 miles, 307 calories). We mostly walked but did a little bit of jogging as well! After the walk I had Mom drop me off at the end of my street, about 6 blocks from home, and I sprinted home for a great half mile run. Zach and I did some menu planning followed by Nerts playing and then Phase 10. It was a great afternoon because it felt like it balanced productivity with relaxation and fun.

Before too long we were getting ready and heading to Mom and Dad’s so we could all leave for Indy.

IMG_9574 IMG_9578

There is an event every year called “Northside Nights” where restaurants on the north side of Indianapolis offer special deals so you can experience their restaurant for a cheaper price. Mom and I had looked at what the choices were earlier in the week and she and Dad knew pretty quickly where they wanted to go…the Melting Pot! Zach and I have been to the Melting Pot quite a lot for it being a “special occasion” type restaurant. We’ve went for several birthdays, with friends a few times, for anniversaries, for Valentine’s Day and even the night before we got engaged. We’ve been telling Mom and Dad for years that they would love it and I was so excited we were finally all going! My excitement had a bit of a snag when it turned out that our reservation was actually for the NEXT Saturday but luckily they were able to squeeze us in! Drinks were first and we all shared a crisp bottle of pinot grigio throughout our meal.

The special deal they had going on was REALLY good for the Melting Pot. We got to choose a cheese fondue course, salads, a meat/vegetarian fondue course and then chocolate course. For the cheese we got spinach artichoke and it was excellent!

IMG_9583 IMG_9582

Zach and I had never had this one before and we loved it, I think it’s our second favorite right behind fiesta. For the dippers we got some raw veggies, apples, bread and chips. The apples and bread were my favorite for this course. Next came salads which I only had a little over half of. They were good, but who wants to fill up on salad at the Melting Pot?! 🙂

IMG_9584

For meat Mom, Dad and Zach all got the “signature selection” which came with shrimp, chicken, filet mignon and teriyaki sirloin. I went with the vegetarian plate to try it out and got wild mushroom sacchettis (the purse shaped pasta), spinach ravioli, mushrooms, asparagus, artichoke hearts and peanut-crusted tofu.

IMG_9591 IMG_9590 IMG_9587

Zach and I shared both our plates and it was all phenomenal. Of course. Off my plate I liked the pastas the best (big surprise right) but I also loooove the mushrooms, especially with one particular dipping sauce (they offer 5 sauces to choose from). Off Zach’s I think the teriyaki was my favorite! Along with our main dishes we get a bowl of broccoli/potatoes/mushrooms to cook as well.

At this point it sounds like a lot of food but your bites are so small and the eating experience is spread out over so much time that you really aren’t that full at all. That’s good news because now comes the best part-dessert! We chose a chocolate fondue that Zach and I had never had before either, the Turtle.

IMG_9592

It’s chocolate + caramel with candied pecans and they set it on fire when making it! I don’t love nuts with my dessert but these really were pretty good and the chocolate + caramel combination is a huge winner. We get the most amazing plate of dessert dippers-

IMG_9593

Bananas, strawberries, pound cake, rice krispies, brownies, marshmallows and of course, cheesecake. AGH! So, so good. It makes me hungry just looking at it. 🙂 Needless to say, we had a fantastic dining experience and Mom and Dad loved it. When we had arrived for dinner Zach and I saw that a restaurant/bar called the Ale Emporium was RIGHT next door and we remembered that we had a gift card we’d never used for there. Grant and Leah got it for Zach last Christmas and we’d forgotten about it until we saw the sign! So after dinner all Zach and I said, “How would you guys like some drinks on us?” And of course they said yes. 🙂 We got a table inside and ordered a round of drinks. Obviously we didn’t get any food there and I didn’t take any pictures but while we hung out we played a version of Heads Up at the table. That’s the charade game we love so much now where you hold the phone to your head and act things out. No, we did not get up and act anything out. There are also categories that allow you to talk about something to try to get them to guess the correct answer and we had a really fun time doing this with animals and popular movies.

Next came the drive home complete with lots of top-of-your-lungs singing. 🙂 When we got back to Mom and Dad’s I put on a St. Patty’s shirt to celebrate the holiday!

IMG_9606 IMG_9613

We capped off the night with games of Jenga, Scattergories and CatchPhrase and one piece of french bread pizza apiece. What a perfect Saturday!!

IMG_9627 IMG_9628

Saturday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – banana w/PB
  • Lunch – grapes, pretzels
  • Supper -cheese fondue, 3/4 salad, meat/veg fondue, chocolate fondue, 4 glasses wine
  • Snack – 1 pc. french bread pizza

196/1,400 miles. 41.5/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

