8:04

16 Feb

Friday rocked on SO many levels! Let’s start with workouts… Did the usual 30 in the morning then at the gym after work I was DETERMINED to get a new PR on my mile. The last time I pr’d a mile was Feb. 19 of last year! I ran that in 8:10. Well I haven’t ran a sub-9 minute mile in forever and knew that I was really reaching on a limb but I wanted it. So I started at a 7.0. STARTED at a 7.0…that’s a tough place for me to start! I ran my heart out and ended up at an 8.1 and a time of 8:04!!! I really felt like dying the last, oh, four minutes! This was by no means easy, but I pushed through and did it and was so proud. Next it’s time to crack 8 minutes! 🙂 I walked after for a total of 30 minutes on the treadmill (2.1 miles, 184 calories).

During the day Friday I had a fun but exhausting V-day party with the kids. Vicki came to help/participate and I was SO thankful for her being there, it was so great to have an extra pair of hands! She also brought Zach and I some really sweet Valentine’s gifts. 🙂 The kids got me several cute things as well. I spent allll of nap-time baking! I returned to my new favorite baking site- Sally’s Baking Addiction to make up these incredible looking treats: Red Velvet Oreo Brownies. I made them EXACTLY the way she does, so go check it out if you want to see the exact steps. Here are a few photos of the process…

IMG_8795

IMG_8797

IMG_8798

IMG_8799 IMG_8800

The gist is that it is a red velvet brownie on the bottom, then a thick layer of cookies and cream frosting, followed by a layer of chocolate ganache and topped with crushed oreos. I worked hard on these and crossed my fingers that they would turn out well! When I got home from the gym Zach and I ate leftovers and showered and then I shut him in his room and set up my surprise! I won’t go TOO into detail, but here’s what I had been making:

IMG_8726

IMG_8727

IMG_8729

I took a bed sheet and turned it into a game board titled “The Game of Love”. It took me FOR-EVER to trace all those spaces! There ended up being 84 of them!! Then I filled in all the spaces with different commands that involved drinking, eating, dancing, kissing, gifts, outfit changes ;), wilds and lots that I am not going to put on my blog… Obviously each thing was repeated several times since the game board was so big!

I set up our champagne in our long stemmed beautiful glasses that we had at our wedding. We weren’t 21 when we got married, so these glasses only ever held sparkling cider! Haha! I can’t believe we hadn’t used them since and they were filthy with dust and I had to clean them well but they were SO fun to use. An extra special touch.

IMG_8806

 

I set up allll the supplies needed for the game including small pieces of my brownie dessert! I tried using a cookie cutter to make them into hearts, but that was really difficult, so only one was turned into a heart.

IMG_8803 IMG_8804

 

They tasted AMAZING. It was an absolute blast and Zach declared it the “best Valentine’s we’ve had yet!” I agree. 🙂

Friday Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – strawberries, waffle w/PB
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – leftover pesto green beans + potatoes, 1 brownie, 1 choc. strawberry, 3 glasses champagne

122/1,400 miles. 27.5/150 miles.

Leave a Reply

