MEATLOAF CAN BE CUTE

7 Feb

Ooh I loved last night’s dinner!! Though I didn’t get the best pictures of it… Backing up to Wednesday first, I did my gazelle time but was totally lazy and skipped spin. I wish I hadn’t now but at the time it seemed like a nice idea! Thursday was gazelle + 30 minutes on the treadmill at an incline (1.89 miles). While I was at the gym, dinner was in the oven. Cheesy Meatloaf Minis to be exact! This came from a recipe I tore out of a “Cooking Light” magazine.

IMG_8704

Before I left for the gym I sautéed onion + garlic and then mixed them into a bowl with the following:

  • ground turkey (instead of ground sirloin)
  • fresh parsley
  • dried oregano
  • ketchup
  • salt
  • pepper
  • breadcrumbs
  • horseradish
  • parmesan cheese
  • dijon mustard
  • egg
  • white cheddar cheese

I was only making 3 mini meat loaves, not 6, so I halved the recipe. Though I wouldn’t have minded having 4 left over… I mixed all the ingredients and shaped them into little loaves, topped with ketchup and then popped them in the oven. I told Zach to take them out when the timer went off and that I would be home shortly after. (I cooked them for a little longer at a lower temperature).

IMG_8706

Worked out perfectly! They had only been out a few minutes when I got home and threw us together salads. I used some new Annie’s Green Garlic dressing that was okay but not great in my opinion.

IMG_8708

The meatloaves though were awesome (not to mention adorable)! I loved the little bites of cheese throughout and the flavors were excellent.

IMG_8709

The fresh parsley seemed to add a special kick to them. I would definitely make these again!

IMG_8712

As promised, I am starting up my online food journal. Here is yesterday’s:

  • Breakfast- oatmeal with blueberries (I make mine from scratch with rolled oats)
  • Lunch- leftover cup of seafood chowder (reheats great!)
  • Supper- salad, 1 meatloaf mini
  • Dessert- small chocolate frozen yogurt sundae (I eat dessert like almost every night, it’s my thing! :))  

We had our snack while finishing “Silver Lining’s Playbook” which was an unusual movie but had great acting! I pretty much love Jennifer Lawrence in anything. Ready to run at least a little tonight and VERY excited for yoga tomorrow morning!

91.5/1,400 miles

Leave a Reply

