POLKA DOTS AND A CUTE GUY

16 Jan

It’s Thursday and (finger’s crossed!) I think I can finally say I’ve exited the sick zone. Tuesday was a bit miserable, definitely worse than Monday was. I did do my 30 minutes on the gazelle but that is the only formal exercise I got that day. Between a small class, eating leftovers and going to bed early I kept it low-key.

Yesterday, while not quite 100%, I felt world’s better! I did my gazelle time and then had my first spin class in a month!! The last time I got to go to spin was the Wednesday before Christmas and then Christmas was on a Weds. (gym closed), New Year’s Day was on a Weds. (gym closed) and then last week I was being lazy. When it’s only once a week like that time flies! It was great to be back. 🙂 I was in there for 65 minutes, 21 miles and 418 calories. 

So a little spin class side note- I have some new muscles on my shoulders!! I sit in the front row right in front of the mirrors in spin. Last night I was noticing something was different about my shoulders. They looked pointier or bonier…I wasn’t sure but something was off. Then while I was standing up and biking I noticed that every time I shifted forward there was a depression that would appear right below the shoulder! I wanted to be like “Whoa! Everyone look! Look at my shoulder and see that slight dent? That’s new!!!!” but of course I didn’t and settled for grinning in the mirror at myself like an idiot. 🙂 Get strong!

Dinner was a two-part endeavor last night. First, my part- Chopping mushrooms and onions

IMG_8403

Peeling potatoes then boiling them

IMG_8406

Mashing said potatoes. 

IMG_8407

Draining frozen, chopped spinach and setting out all the measuring equipment, spices and everything needed for dinner. Then I went to the gym and Zach took over! He browned lean ground beef, then sautéed spinach, onions, mushrooms and garlic.

IMG_8419

Mixed the mashed up potatoes with greek yogurt and unsweetened almond milk. Stirred those in with the ground beef and spinach mixture then put it all in a casserole dish. Topped with cheese.

IMG_8426

Found these on my camera, he’s so adorable!!

IMG_8428 IMG_8430

 

Baked in the oven and it was ready when I came in from the gym!

IMG_8433

The food got staged on my “lemon tree table”.

IMG_8435

We served it over a large lettuce leaf to add some crunch and more greens.

IMG_8437

Unfortunately this was just all right. The flavor was bland (despite Zach adding S+P and a little cayenne). We did add a bit of hot sauce to it and that helped boost the flavor but this isn’t a dish I’d make again.

IMG_8438

Ate least we know we were eating nutritious, whole food!

IMG_8439

 

Looking forward to my nap-time Insanity workout today, time to re-incorporate that again! Get stronger!

 

27/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

