THE DESOLATION OF SMAUG

14 Dec

Oh man. The movie last night was so good. Oh, I didn’t mention I was seeing a movie? Well if you know anything about me you know what an extremely HUGE LOTR fan (Lord of the Rings for you mortals ;)) and this, of course, translates into being a huge Hobbit fan as well. Last night was the first full night of showings for the second Hobbit movie “The Desolation of Smaug” and I bought my tickets days ago. First though, I had to get through the workday. Thirty minutes of the gazelle, an easy day of work (I was spoiled with low numbers all week!) and then a treadmill workout at the gym. I ran a mile (a 10 minute mile no less, fastest one in quite awhile!) and then did the rest walking at an incline. Total of 30 minutes, 2.5 miles and 244 calories.

I came home to eat a small amount of leftovers (small because I knew we’d have popcorn at the theater) and we headed out. Luckily we were early in getting there because we had to wait in a line to get into our theater! Zach and I waited near the front and Dad showed up to get his ticket right as we were sitting down. We had the best seats in the house. 🙂 It was just me, Zach and Dad for the movie because Mom doesn’t really go to theaters. The big screen gives her motion sickness and she can’t hear that well either. As always with Dad there was popcorn and M&M’s and they were delicious. The movie was the real highlight though- it was excellent! Definitely better than the first one and the special effects and graphics were incredible. Can’t wait until it comes out on DVD!!!

When we came out of the theater it had started snowing and when we woke up this morning it was a winter wonderland! Zach shoveled and I made my way out to the gym where there was almost no one working out. I grabbed a treadmill and did 46 minutes of sprints. I ran them at the fastest consistently that I have yet and I was wiped out at the end but felt accomplished. Did 3.6 miles and burned 320 calories. Now Zach and I have been running errands and preparing for the week ahead and it’s off to our first Christmas event this afternoon! We’ve got our annual Christmas get together with Zach’s parents and Trent, Mary and the kids. Good food and fun sure to be had. 🙂

1,202 miles. 79/200 running miles.

Leave a Reply

