TORNADOES IN NOVEMBER

18 Nov

Look at my brand new babies!!

IMG_7328

I have yet to had a chance to break them in since I didn’t do a workout yesterday but I am so excited to give them a go. They are the evolution of my old pair so I am hoping they’ll be a great match. After a busy Saturday morning Zach and I headed to Indy and picking up my new running shoes from Blue Mile was the first stop. The second stop was Whole Foods!!! We had not been in a very, very long time and I was so excited to get good groceries for the week and stock up on some favorites. We plowed through my list and spent a good while in their debating over products. We came out with smiles on our faces from some seriously good shopping. 🙂

Once the groceries were purchased we headed into downtown Indy to pay a late afternoon visit to a fun place- Plat 99! This is where I went with Jami for super cool cocktails a few weeks ago and I was really excited to have Zach try it out. He loved the atmosphere just as much as I do-

IMG_7283

We both got delicious and unique cocktail creations while we enjoyed their complimentary truffle oil popcorn!

IMG_7285 IMG_7291

We weren’t dinner-ready yet but decided to get one small plate to share so we settled on the artisanal grilled cheese.

IMG_7284

This was a fun take on a grilled cheese with pears and arugula and some gooey delicious cheese (fontina?) and of course we thought it was fabulous. 😉

IMG_7294

We headed to Mom and Dad’s house to coerce them into playing cards with us but they weren’t home! We tried to get in the hot tub but it wasn’t cycling so the water was waaaay too cold! We settled for playing cards just the two of us and then hung out with my parents a little once they got home. Zach and I ended the night watching “Olympus has Fallen” on Netflix. A fun and productive Saturday!!

Sunday morning brought church of course. It’s always the best way to kick off a new week! After church was some leftovers, a little lounging and some dish preparing! We had an early Thanksgiving dinner scheduled for Sunday evening with Zach’s family and I was in charge of a veggie dish and another side. For my vegetable dish I settled on these: the best roasted vegetables ever (so the blog post claimed). They did turn out good but I don’t know if I would say the best… Here’s some of the veggie shots:

IMG_7309 IMG_7311 IMG_7317

It really did smell delicious cooking in the house but I think I would prefer a different veggie combo were I to do it again. Oh! I also left out the potatoes since my other side was a starch and I accidentally forgot the garlic (whoops) which may have changed the recipe some as well). I used my trusty “Fix-It and Forget-It” slow-cooker cookbook for the other side. A wonderfully cheesy, delicious mac and cheese!

IMG_7318

This dish WAS excellent. Oh how I love macaroni and cheese. 🙂 This was a fairly simple dish. I slightly cooked elbow macaroni and then mixed it with the following in a crockpot:

  • melted butter
  • eggs
  • whole milk
  • evaporated milk
  • sharp cheddar
  • salt
  • white pepper

IMG_7307 IMG_7308

This got topped off with more sharp cheddar and some shredded parmesan and then cooked all afternoon! The weather had been absolutely crazy all day, very warm and extremely windy with super fast-moving clouds. On the literally 3 block drive to Zach’s grandma’s house the sky opened up and it started pouring. Luckily there was a bit of a break when we rushed into the house. The whole evening the weather proceeded to be wild. The sky looked so ominous yet there were patches of pure blue sky with the sun shining through as we stood outside listening to the tornado sirens going off (luckily nothing ever touched down in Muncie!).

IMG_7315

Then the sky got incredibly dark as it rained some more and we had more ferocious wind.

IMG_7319

Next the sky turned beautiful again for a few minutes….

IMG_7322 IMG_7325

Then finally it blackened back up and the wind caused a huge branch to fall on some power lines outside the house. Blackout! From that point through the rest of the evening we were without power and played games by flashlight/candlelight. It was probably more fun that way anyway. 🙂 We played Apples to Apples in the dark and little Noah ran around with his cars entertaining us all. By the time we left a couple of hours later the power was still out and I was hoping to come home to lights at our place and thankfully our power remained on! It was a very fun and pretty exciting pre-Thanksgiving with good food and great company! Another weekend over…

Leave a Reply

