SAMOSAS

23 Oct

I have said it so many times yet I cannot help but say it again- “Cooking Light: Way to Cook Vegetarian” is THE best cookbook there is! (Or at least that I own) I still have yet to make a less than stellar recipe from it and last night’s was above and beyond incredible! It was a little time-consuming but I had some help and it was so worth all the time it took. Ryan came over to have dinner with Zach and I and, like always, he enjoys getting involved in the kitchen with me so I put him right to work. Our recipe was Curried Vegetable Samosas with Cilantro-Mint Chutney (thank goodness I could link up to it because there were a lot of ingredients/directions!

It all began at the end of my workday when I cooked some yellow lentils on the stovetop and peeled/chopped/boiled baking potatoes. I put all the potatoes in a pot of boiling water, turned it slightly lower than boiling and then left it for the next 40 minutes while I went on a run/walk with Zach! Mom was supposed to walk with me tonight but I got off work early and rain was threatening so she told me to go ahead and go. Zach and I set out in our neighborhood totally bundled up (it’s getting cold out there!) and while it did sprinkle a little we were totally comfortable! We were out for 30 minutes (2.03 miles, 212 calories) and .85 of those miles we ran and I actually kept good pace with Zach! Believe it or not I rather enjoyed running in the chilly weather.

Upon returning home I took the potatoes off the stove and mashed them then mixed in all the ingredients for the samosa filling.

IMG_5731 IMG_5733

Ryan showed up and we worked double time! We wet the edges of egg roll wrappers with egg, placed filling inside and rolled them like pros! Our first two were anything but correct (or attractive) but after further studying the directions and pictures (another reason I love this cookbook-step by step photos!) we really got the hang of it.

IMG_5734 IMG_5736

Zach was in charge of the stovetop cooking-

IMG_5738

 

Simply cooking each side for one minute in cooking spray!

All of the ingredients for the chutney went into the food processor and were turned into something that looked beautiful and smelled divine.

IMG_5732 IMG_5739 IMG_5741

 

Finally after a long, tantalizing cooking process we were ready to eat!

IMG_5742

 

Best part is that it is only 275 calories for 5 of these + chutney!!

IMG_5743

 

No, actually the best part is how amazing they tasted!! So much flavor, so much intricacy, an absolutely amazing dish!

IMG_5744 IMG_5745

 

You can bet that these will be made again. We love authentic indian food in this household! Yum. Just looking at them makes me happy (and a little hungry…).

Also for my Tuesday I did my 30 minutes on the gazelle, did ZWOW 7 at naptime and we hung out with Hillary and Ryan some in the evening after dinner. A great day!

I had to go back and pick up ZWOW 7 since I accidentally skipped it and it was a good one for calorie torching!

  • Jump Lunge Side Kick 10 reps
  • Supergirl Pushups 10 reps
  • Jump Rope 2 minutes (alternating easy and high knees)
  • Love Bends with kettle bell (I used a weight) 10 reps each side

You do this through 3 times and it takes 16 minutes. Those supergirl pushups are something else! Glad to have gotten another ZWOW done, I always dread doing them and then am so happy when I do. I need to remember that…

Now it’s Wednesday and look what we woke up to:

IMG_5746

 

I know, worst picture of all time, but it was dark and freezing and I just snapped a quick one. But snow! Ack! It’s not even November! Ah well, it WAS quite pretty. 🙂 I always determine to look at things from a positive perspective! Speaking of positive, I am POSITIVELY STOKED that in just 2 1/2 more days Zach and I will be leaving for my surprise birthday getaway!! Where are we going? What will we be doing? No idea but I know it will be amazing!

1,068 miles. 66.5/200 running miles.

 

Leave a Reply

