FAMILY DINNERS ARE A HIT

19 Oct

Last night was our 2nd month of “family dinners” and I think they are going to stick! In both September and now October Ron & Vicki (Zach’s parents), Trent & Mary (Vicki’s brother and wife who are Zach and I’s age) + kids Noah (in my daycare) and Natalee, and Zach and I have all gotten together and contributed dishes. This month was at my house and Vicki didn’t have to contribute food because it was a birthday dinner for her! I had a cute little fall setup on the table. 🙂

IMG_5552

Mary made some absolutely delicious potato soup and I made a Tomato Ricotta Tart. This was from a “Cooking Light” magazine but unfortunately I couldn’t find it to link up to! Ah well, I will detail it out.

First I combined these in my food processor: flour (exactly 5.6 ounces, it was very specific), pine nuts, kosher salt, baking powder and black pepper. I pulsed it until combined and then as the processor was on I slowly poured a mix of olive oil + ice water down the food chute until a crumbly mix was left.

IMG_5548

I sprayed a glass pie pan with cooking spray, pressed the crust into the bottom and up the sides and then baked it for 10 minutes. While that cooked I mixed the following in a bowl: part-skim ricotta, an egg, garlic cloves, kosher salt, basil and some gruyere cheese. This went into the crust and got spread out.

IMG_5549

Then the whole thing was topped with thin slices of tomato and a little bit more gruyere.

IMG_5550

Baked for 25 minutes and it was beautiful!

IMG_5553 IMG_5554

This tasted great and came in at 225 calories a slice! Everyone seemed to really enjoy it 🙂

IMG_5556

(My slice with soup and water) After dinner we surprised Vicki with an absolutely delicious carrot cake from Concannon’s.

IMG_5568

I have never had their carrot cake before and while I am still obsessed with their chocolate with french buttercream this is a close second! It was sooo good! After dinner we sat around talking and talking lots of pictures of those cute little kids. 🙂

IMG_5555 IMG_5573 IMG_5574 IMG_5575

For Friday workouts I did 30 minutes on the gazelle in the morning, then when my half day began I headed to the Greenway. It was a cool but sunny day and I did 5.3 miles in 1hr 36 minutes (588 calories, walking the whole time). I came home and cleaned for the family dinner and did some other stuff around the house before heading to the gym. Did 10 minutes on a bike and 20 on the arc trainer for a total of 143 calories and 1.14 miles.

This morning I was up and heading to strength class after eating some less than tasty strawberries. We did 45 minutes with weights, a stability ball, a bosu ball and a body bar- lots of equipment today! I didn’t touch my 5lb weights once and did strictly 8 and 10lbs! Getting stronger. 🙂 After strength I was going to head out on the Greenway but it was such a nasty, wet morning that I hopped on a treadmill instead. I did 45 minutes of walking at a brisk pace for 261 calories and 2.89 miles.

1,061.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

