TAMALE CASSEROLE

19 Sep

Over half way through the week now AND I have a half day today! Now that’s exciting. 🙂 Once Kathy gets here I am hitting the Greenway for a workout (provided it stops raining!) and then riding the bus with Zach and his boy’s team for an away game. I’m really looking forward to it as I rarely get the chance to attend away games.

Yesterday was a good, quick day of daycare and before I knew it I was at spinning at the Y and saving a bike for Hillary. She came for the second time last night! I got in 73 minutes, 25.7 miles and 451 calories of great spin class exercise. When we got home the house smelled great and my crockpot dinner was almost ready! All I had to do was add some FF cheddar cheese to the pot and let it melt. Dinner was called Slow-Cooked Tamale Casserole and we ate it with tortilla chips.

IMG_5182

Four hours earlier I cooked up lean ground beef while mixing an egg with unsweetened almond milk and cornmeal. When the cornmeal mix was smooth I added in corn, diced tomatoes (undrained), a packet of chili seasoning, ground beef and seasoned salt. It also called for olives but I omitted them since Hillary doesn’t like them. 🙂 Like I mentioned, I added the cheese at the end and it was ready!

IMG_5183

Yet another simple, healthy and tasty dinner!

IMG_5185

 

We ate up and watched old episodes of Grey’s Anatomy until my sweet husband got home. A good, relaxing evening. 🙂

Enjoy your Thursday!

*spin + morning gazelle puts me at 945 miles.

Leave a Reply

