CHEESY ICE CUBES

30 Aug

What an unusual technique I used while cooking last night’s dinner! I was having Hillary over for the evening so I knew I needed to make something she would like and I went with Chicken Cordon Bleu from “Now Eat This!”. This was a healthy take (of course ;)) on chicken cordon bleu stripping it from 1,360 calories (81g of fat) to 333 calories (6.6g of fat)!!

Nap-time was when I made the cheesy filling in a most unusual way… In a saucepan I whisked evaporated skim milk with cornstarch over heat until thickened then stirred in swiss cheese until melted and smooth. Added S+P and chives and then came the strange yet brilliant component! I sprayed an ice cube tray down with cooking spray and then filled 8 holes with the melty, cheesy mixture and stuck it in the freezer.

IMG_4616 IMG_4617

It was left there until I got off work and it had frozen. After work but before my workout I pounded chicken cutlets thin, laid a slice of lean deli ham on top, a cheese cube (it called for two but I could only actually fit 2 in one of the chickens, the others all got 1 cube) and then rolled it up and toothpicked it together.

IMG_4618

The bundle was dredged in WW flour, soaked in egg whites (whipped to foaming) and then rolled in WW bread crumbs.

IMG_4619

While Mom and I walked on the Greenway the chicken cooked in the oven and was ready when I got back! I made accompanying salads and melted down the extra cheese cubes to put a little sauce on top and it was dinner time.

IMG_4623

Hillary came over to see “The Hobbit” and we enjoyed our food while watching. We both liked the chicken!

IMG_4620

I do think the outside breading got a little too dry but I imagine it’s because I cooked at a longer time at a lower temperature than the recipe said, otherwise very good though!

IMG_4621

We had fun watching the movie and it was nice to have company since it was one of Zach’s late away-game nights. Hooray for Friday!

*Workout updates*

Wednesday: 30 minutes gazelle, 77 minutes spin class (25.9 miles, 509 calories!). I got in a great spin class this week! Had a lot of time, felt energized and powerful and it was fun! I went straight from spin to Zach’s varsity girl’s home game. It was a beautiful evening for soccer…

IMG_4615

And we won 8-1!

Thursday: 30 minutes gazelle, 31 minute walk (1.53 miles, 130 calories)

878.5 miles.

One Response to “CHEESY ICE CUBES”

  1. White Pearl August 30, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    This sounds like an awesome idea ! I loved this creativity 😉 Specially when it invilves my beloved cheese 😛 Love the post

Leave a Reply

