EVERYTHING BUT THE LAMB

7 Aug

Last night I made a (belated) birthday dinner for my Dad. I had given him my recipes and let him pick one and he chose Greek Lamb and Feta Lasagna.

IMG_4277

This was a recipe I had torn out of a Cooking Light magazine and had never made before. Well I made it exactly according to the recipe with one change- no lamb! It’s just a bit hard to find 9oz. of ground lamb here in Muncie. 🙂 So I made it with all lean ground beef. It turned out WONDERFULLY! Even my not-so-pasta-loving Mom had seconds. 🙂 This was a little labor intensive but the nice thing was that I was able to assemble it all at nap-time and have it ready to pop in the oven after work. I made the sauce from scratch…

IMG_4273

Mixed the ricotta and lemon rind and spread it onto no boil noodles…

IMG_4275

Put together the lasagna…

IMG_4274

then it sat in the fridge! After work right before Mom and I left for a walk I put it in the oven and by the time we returned it was ready to come out! Perfect! To accompany the lasagna I made salads and garlic bread. I had a salad of course, but no bread (classic Jordan).

IMG_4278

This lasagna was excellent and I would definitely make it again!

IMG_4279

Monday workouts: 30 minutes on the gazelle, ZWOW 6, 30 minutes on the treadmill (2.1 miles, 195 calories) alternating walking and running. I swear I am not a great endurance runner lately but as long as the weight keeps dropping I don’t mind. 🙂

ZWOW 6 was a great, quick, tough one. It was a 10 minute AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) of: 10 pulse plyo jumps, 8 side burpees, 6 jump leg kick ups. Repeat, repeat, repeat! The jump leg kick ups get especially tiring by the end! This is definitely a workout for legs!

Tuesday workouts: 30 minutes on the gazelle, 41 minutes walk (1.9 miles, 223 calories)

804 miles.

Leave a Reply

