TOUGH TO COOK, TOUGH TO EAT

15 Jun

Saturday Morning

Yesterday was a great day!! Great because…it’s the weekend, I had fantastic workouts, it was a beautiful day, less than a week until vacation, I made a good dinner and lots of evening quality time with my love! So backing up to nap time- I decided to do ZWOW 1 again but do the whole thing. I want to slowly work my way through every ZWOW and what better place to than with the first one?! This was a bit of a longer one at 24 minutes.Here’s the run down:

  • 10 Dive Bombers
  • 5 burpees
  • 20 Squat/leg lifts per side
  • 5 burpees
  • 10 Side Plank Lift per side
  • 5 burpees
  • 10 pistol squats per leg
  • 5 burpees

Repeat 3 times. This was pretty tough! Especially those darn pistol squats, I still look as epically pitiful doing one as the last time I tried but I did my best! After that I prepped some food for dinner. Once work was done I hit the gym and ran 2 miles which felt great. It took 20:14 which isn’t as fast as I would like but it’s better than nothing (174 calories). After that I did a thigh weight machine and a tricep machine then home to cook dinner.

*I have to interrupt this post to say how amazed I am as I am typing that my one-eyed Pirate Jack is catching this fly in mid-air…incredible!*

ANYway, dinner tonight was lemon broccoli cous cous and citrus glazed scallops both from the same issue of “Taste of Home: Healthy Cooking”. I only made half of the couscous portion and used whole wheat. I also left out the almonds. I have made this before and it is always simple and always delicious.

IMG_2198

The scallops were a new try. I made it exactly as the recipe said and that glaze took some serious attention to get it to thicken properly and not burn!

IMG_2196

The scallops were so, so because I cooked them too tough. I have done this the last two times with scallops! They are just so TOUGH (pun intended) to cook properly!

IMG_2197

Other than that it was good though

After dinner Zach and I went for a nice, neighborhood walk for 21 minutes (106 cal.) and .9 miles. Home now for HIMYM and a small frozen yogurt!

558.5 miles. 53/200 running miles.

Leave a Reply

