TOFU HASH

13 Jun

Thursday Morning

Last night’s spin class was fantastic! I got there for a full half hour of biking before class and then did 42 minutes of class (I always leave early to get home and fix dinner) for a good 72 minutes of spinning! I felt great and strong which is always nice in class and I did 26.2 miles (a marathon!) and burned 539 calories.

Once home I only had to throw dinner together since all the prep-work had been done at nap-time. I made Hash Browns with Italian Seasoned Tofu from “Way to Cook Vegetarian”. This was a pretty simple dish that seems like it took more work than it did. 🙂

  • In a large skillet heat oil and saute diced carrots, onion and garlic for several minutes
  • Add potatoes (the recipe calls for a bag of Simply Potatoes refrigerated diced potatoes with onion-takes some of the work out!) and saute until browned
  • Add red pepper, salt, pepper and tofu and cook 4 minutes more
  • Serve and sprinkle with fresh parsley

The recipe wants you to buy a specific type of italian-seasoned tofu but I already had regular on hand so I made my own. After my tofu was drained and cubed I tossed it in a bag with EVOO and some italian seasoning and left it in the fridge until cooking, that seemed to work just fine!

IMG_2192 IMG_2193

This was pretty good and Zach and I both agreed it would make an awesome breakfast dish with a runny egg on top. Perhaps that will be in the plans soon…

IMG_2191

Broke out my giant bag of oats from the amish store for my oatmeal this morning! This should last me quite some time I imagine. 🙂

IMG_2195

8 DAYS!!!!

550.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

