WEEKEND HAPPENINGS

10 Jun

Monday Morning 

Back to Saturday. “The Great Gatsby” was good but I don’t think I would watch it again. Glad I saw it once though and the outfits are fantastic. 🙂 When I got home I set to work on my homemade pizza. I had already had a tomato sauce simmering on the stove alllll day that I made fresh using this recipe from Eating Well.

IMG_2182 IMG_2183

Totally natural, totally delicious. I only made half the recipe and it still made enough sauce for probably 3 pizzas! I am freezing the rest for a later date. My one modification from the recipe is that I didn’t use any sugar. It didn’t need it!

When I got home from the movie I set to work on the dough. I used a whole wheat mix that I had purchased back on our trip to Fountain Acres (the amish store) and it made the process incredibly simple. I just mixed 1 3/4 C of the mix with a 1/2 C of water in my Kitchen Aid on low for 10 minutes using the dough hook. After mixing I let it rest for half an hour and then it was ready to spread out and top!

IMG_2184

On went the sauce with green peppers and mushrooms. I used a blend of FF cheddar and FF mozzarella and popped it in the oven until ready!

IMG_2185

We both loved the pizza and there is something so heartwarming and extra delicious to know that you made it all from scratch!

IMG_2186

Nutritious pizza wins.

IMG_2187

After dinner we went to one of Zach’s soccer girl’s open houses and then to Cammack Station for a treat. We did take a 15 or so minute walk before our ice cream but I didn’t do an activity log on my FitBit so I don’t have exact stats. Cammack Station is an adorable little diner that has great ice cream. I hadn’t been here in probably a year and a half or so and I should have taken a picture! I had a small chocolate chip cookie dough cup with hot fudge and marshmallow- a great end to the evening!

Sunday kicked off with church (and some toast with peaches) and then home for leftovers. After lunch I biked to Mom’s using the Greenway mostly so we could go on a walk. It took roughly 17 and a half minutes to get there and I am estimating it is about 3 to 3 1/2 miles (my Fitbit doesn’t record my biking stats properly). Once there we set out on a 40 minute walk around town and did 1.63 miles (197 calories). We were moving at a more leisurely pace with several stops to look at things today. After a game with Mom I biked back home (which I swear is downhill) to lay out in the yard and plan a menu for the week! The evening ended with a 26 min. neighborhood walk with Zach (post-rain) for 1.18 miles and 139 calories. A wonderful, healthy weekend!

11 DAYS!!!!!!!!!!!!

534 miles.

Leave a Reply

