CHICKEN AZTECA

6 Jun

Thursday Evening

I got Mom to run a mile straight tonight! We went out on the Greenway after work and did 41 minutes, 2.19 miles and 279 calories and one mile of that was running. 🙂 Then it was time to come home to a dinner that was pretty much ready (yay crockpot!) called Chicken Azteca.

IMG_2075

This came out of my “Fix-It and Forget-It: Slow-cooker Cookbook”. Earlier in the day I mixed up black beans, corn, cumin, salsa and garlic in the bottom of the crockpot and layered in boneless, skinless chicken breast halves. This cooked all afternoon and there was only a small bit to do when I got home. I chopped up the chicken and added 80z. of neufatchel (in place of cream cheese) and stirred it in until melted. This was served over brown rice (also made earlier in the day) and oh my word I just realized I made a mistake. As I am typing this and re-reading the recipe I see and remember that I was supposed to top it with shredded cheddar cheese at the end! Whoops. Well good to know that it tasted great anyway and we saved some calories. 🙂

IMG_2076

We had salads on the side but this dish was the obvious hit, it was super good! Zach hasn’t got home to try it yet but I just know he will love it as well. 😉 Tuesdays and Thursdays are when he’ll be getting home late and I have a feeling you will be seeing dinner at Mom and Dad’s at least one of those nights a week…

IMG_2077

 

Half day tomorrow and I am looking forward to a great workout, getting my hair done and a Friday cookout with friends!!

522 miles. 48/200 running miles.

Leave a Reply

