A MISTAKE THAT STILL WORKS

6 Jun

Thursday Morning

I was so wiped out-exhausted by the time I got home from spin class last night that I made part of my recipe wrong. And it still turned out good! That’s a relief. 🙂 I made Roasted Sesame Asparagus from my “Vegan Planet” cookbook and it was really very simple. Not sure how I messed it up…

IMG_2072

You are supposed to toss cut up asparagus with S+P (I did), peanut oil (I did) and cook in the oven until done. Then toss with toasted sesame seeds (I did) and toasted sesame oil. Well, I accidentally added the sesame oil before cooking at the same time as I added the peanut oil. Oops. I am telling you though, my brain was fried. I think allergies are acting up again this week or something because I am eating great, getting in good workouts, sleeping 8+ hours and yet I am waking up tired and only get progressively more tired throughout the day. The afternoon is the absolute worst. Hopefully I’ll snap out of this soon!

IMG_2074

The other part of dinner was a pepperjack risotto cake. I didn’t have to make these, I just had to heat them up in the oven!

IMG_2071

Back on his birthday (a while ago, yes) Zach got a giftcard to Omaha Steaks from my Uncle Greg. Omaha Steaks allows you to order incredible cuts of meat that have all the good stats (you know- grass fed, no antibiotics, etc. etc) and we only finally ordered off the site a month ago. We ordered a pack of 8 individually wrapped bacon-wrapped filet mignons and a box of pepperjack risotto cakes (they sell other things besides meat). We actually had our first filet each last Friday and they were great but I didn’t blog about it. Well last night the risotto cakes were the other meal component and they were AWESOME. I could have eaten like 3 (well maybe not 3…) but they do have pretty high stats for their size so I stuck with one. That one was still decently filling though and totally delicious. Zach had 2 but there are still several left in the pack so they will be making an appearance from time to time!

IMG_2073

At spin class last night I was glad I got there early and had time on my side to get a long workout in because I was definitely lacking intensity. Still, I got 68 minutes in of 22.3 miles and 491 calories.

15 DAYS UNTIL VACATION!!!!!!!!!

518.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

