I NEVER BUY THE RIGHT FISH

5 Jun

Wednesday Morning

I’ve decided that my next category on my “favorite recipes” page needs to be a fish category. I have cooked up some good fish and last night’s recipe seals the deal! Though it was titled Roasted Red Snapper with Tomatoes and Feta Cheese I, per usual, made this with tilapia. It’s just what I always have on hand! I do enjoy the flavors and thickness of other fish though and sometimes I need to pick up the fish that a recipe actually calls for but last night this worked just fine!

IMG_2069

I got the recipe from my “Easy Dinners, Healthy Recipes” book which seriously never lets me down. This was a pretty simple one to fix as well. I laid my tilapia filets in a glass baking dish and seasoned with ground coriander and pepper and then popped them in the oven at 450 until done. While that was going on I threw the following into a large skillet:

  • A can of undrained, diced tomatoes
  • Oregano
  • Sliced green onions
  • Sliced celery
  • Lemon juice

…and brought it to boiling. Reduced to a simmer and cooked until thickened. This went on top of the fish along with sliced black olives and feta cheese. Voila!

IMG_2067 IMG_2068

This was some tasty fish. I think next time I would add slightly more lemon juice and a little salt to cut the sweetness of the tomatoes a bit more but otherwise it was perfect. Zach especially loved it. 🙂

IMG_2070

Before dinner Mom and I did 44 minutes on the Greenway. It was completely perfect weather for it- not too hot and not too cool. We actually ran the first .75 miles of our walk which is great because Mom didn’t use to run more than maybe .25 at a time. She’s making good progress! We walked the rest for a total of 2.05 miles, 251 calories. That plus the morning’s gazelle workout brings my mileage to…

510 miles. 47/200 running miles.

2 Responses to “I NEVER BUY THE RIGHT FISH”

  1. EverdayLivingPNW June 5, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    Don’t buy tilapia!!! It is grown in poop (seriously they dump farm wastes into the ponds they grow them in to cause a phytoplankton bloom that the fish then eat) and the farming of tilapia is also debated as being harmful to the environment. Instead buy alaskan or west coast caught fish. A better equivalent to tilapia is rockfish (several different species but usually sold as just rockfish or red snapper) or some sort of flat fish like dover sole or rex sole. If you have any questions or want me to elaborate…please email me!!!

    • Jordan June 5, 2013 at 2:43 pm #

      Wow, that’s pretty crazy! I’ll have to do some research into this as I have always bought tilapia for it’s availability/price and what I thought was a good rap sheet. It’s unfortunate that we don’t all live in the pacific northwest like you! 🙂 I am sure you have great access to all the best fish!

Leave a Reply

