A BOATLOAD OF FLAVOR

3 May

Friday Afternoon

Hoo boy am I glad that no one could see me workout this afternoon because it would not have been a pretty sight. Today was Plyometric Cardio (255 calories, 1.41 miles) and my body just felt so slow and sore, legs especially. Ironically this is the last day of the first round of Insanity (besides Cardio Recovery this weekend). Next week is a full week of a new DVD – Core Cardio and Balance and then we go into round two- the MAX dvds…yikes! So anyway I did the workout all right but didn’t push overly hard since I don’t want to be even more worn out tomorrow morning.

Lunch was quite an exciting creation!

IMG_1379

I had a zucchini on hand to use and I decided to create a zucchini boat! I cut it in half and scooped out the middle, sprayed the halves with olive oil and stuck it under the broiler. While I was deciding what my boat should consist of I had the brilliant idea of quinoa so I cooked up 1/4 C of that. I seasoned it with pepper, oregano, a dash of onion powder and cayenne pepper. Then I spooned it into the boats.

IMG_1376

Next I laid half a slice of turkey bacon on top of the quinoa, a sprinkle of swiss cheese on that, then a few slices of gouda and lastly cherry tomatoes.

IMG_1377

This all went back under the broiler for just a minute until bacon cooked and cheese was melty.

IMG_1380

I wasn’t sure how it would taste but it was wonderful! Filling, flavorful, delicious!

IMG_1383

I know that there are so many different things you could do with this, the possibilities for stuffing zucchini are endless!

IMG_1384

Pirate Jack always perks up when food is around 🙂

IMG_1378

 

This evening I am going to be taking it easy at the gym, making a carby “pre-race” dinner and going to bed early!

One Response to “A BOATLOAD OF FLAVOR”

  1. victoria May 3, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Beautiful picture of your Quino Stuffed Zucchini. Good idea to carb load and hit the sack early. God bless your runs tomorrow. I’ll be thinking of you both.

Leave a Reply

