GO, GO AND GO SOME MORE!

30 Apr

Tuesday Evening

This seems like the first time I have sat down all day and it’s after 8 o’clock! I went straight to the gym after work for 30 minutes of sprints on the treadmill (2.5 miles and 235 calories burned). My FitBit is uploading again (it was a site problem not one specifically located to my device so that’s good!) so here were the stats for this afternoon’s Insanity: 267 calories burned and 1.38 miles.

Rushed home to get dinner on the table early again because Zach has another soccer meeting tonight- yesterday was girl’s team, tonight is boys. I had already prepped veggies at naptime for my Black and White Bean Chili from “Quick Soups, Simple Salads”. I sauteed garlic + onion in a bit of EVOO until tender and then added a can of white kidney beans, a can of black beans, a can of chicken broth, chopped jicama, a small can of diced green chiles and cumin. Brought this to a boil and then let simmer while jicama got tender. Have you ever used jicama before? I hadn’t until today. Check out how big this thing was:

IMG_1318

I only used 1/4 of this probably and now I need to figure out what to do with the rest. You can use it in place of potato or any root vegetable but it reminded me the most of a cross between a turnip and an apple. It was slightly earthy and slightly sweet. Even after simmering for 13 minutes it still had a bit of crunch to it but we liked it! Anyway, back to the recipe. At the end I added cilantro and lime juice, served it up and topped with feta cheese.

IMG_1325

This was very hearty soup! And yes, I realize this is my 3rd time having soup in 2 days…no soup tomorrow, I promise!

IMG_1326 IMG_1327

We both really enjoyed this soup and check out how many beans there are. You would have never caught me eating so many beans even a year and a half ago but tonight not only did I eat them, I loved them!

IMG_1328

After eating Zach had to run away immediately and Mom came over to go for a walk! We hit the Greenway for what was my 4th workout today…geesh! Actually though I feel pretty fabulous. 🙂 We walked for 43 minutes, burned 250 calories and did 2.06 miles. I am a bit confused about that mileage because my FitBit is always spot on on outdoor mileage but that means 2 20 minute miles…that’s awfully slow for us. We both thought we did over 3 and we even ran at the end… Perhaps we were slower than it seemed? I’m not sure but I’ll take any mileage it gives me I suppose!

Home but not to relax right away, had to jump in the shower and then blog! Now I am finally wrapping this thing up and I am going to spend some nice me time for about, oh, an hour and a half before I go to bed. Haha! Oh! One last thing- my fitbit is already reading over 2500 calories burned for the day and we still have 4 hours left! I do believe that I may hit my new calorie burn high!!

378 miles.

{Edited to add}

Tonight’s snack was not as indulgent as last night’s but still incredibly good! That’s because it was an Incredi-wich!

IMG_1329

This is a treat from IY that I have always liked but only get occasionally. It’s vanilla fro yo sandwiched between two snickerdoodle cookies. Very scrumptious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

