POTATOES ARE SOMETIMES SWEET

25 Apr

Thursday Evening

Finally a totally good, productive day. 🙂 I went to the gym after work and did 30 minutes at an incline on the treadmill (216 calories and 1.87 miles). When I got home…dinner was ready! It was a crockpot recipe tonight from my “Fix-It and Forget-It Slow-Cooker Cookbook” for ham and sweet potatoes.

IMG_1203

Earlier in the day I sliced sweet potatoes…

IMG_1197

Placed them in the crockpot with a large ham steak on top and then sliced seedless oranges to cover the ham.

IMG_1198

Made a glaze with cornstarch, brown sugar, OJ concentrate and honey and drizzled it over everything. Set on low and I let it cook away. By the time I got home it was smelling fantastic! Zach and I dished it up immediately to eat while finishing “No Country for Old Men”.

IMG_1204 IMG_1206

I am not the biggest sweet potato fan, but this was pretty good with the ham and I did clean my plate. 🙂

IMG_1207

Zach and I shared this bowl of grapes on the side mostly because they were on their very last leg.

IMG_1209

After dinner we worked on some house projects and then went over to Mom and Dad’s. We played Nerts and beat them for the second time! We’re on a streak… 🙂 Ending the night with a tiny kid’s cup of IY’s fat-free, sugar-free flavor of the day: black raspberry.

IMG_1210

Delicious!

360.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

