A FANTASTIC SATURDAY AFTERNOON

20 Apr

Saturday Afternoon

WHOOOOOO!!!! This is the appropriate way to start off this post because of my workout at the Y this morning. I ran a 5K (for the first time in weeks I might add) and felt fantastic AND…ran it under 30 minutes. FOR THE FIRST TIME SINCE BEFORE HAWAII! I am very much excited about this. After the 3.1 miles I continued to walk until I covered 3.74 miles and burned 317 calories. I ran my 5K in 29:57, barely under 30…but still under 30! Since my race is two weeks from today you could say I’m pleased with this.

After my run (and Zach’s) we came home and changed and went straight to pick up Zach’s mom, Vicki. We headed to Fountain City, IN to an amish grocery store with incredible products. Our first order of business was to check out the cheese because today was the last day of their huge 1/2 price cheese sale. Check out this cold cheese room:
IMG_1072

We got to taste lots of samples and Zach and I decided on a cheddar garlic cheese (which reminded us of cheese sticks!) and a flaming hot pepper cheese.  Next we got lunch from the deli. I got a sandwich on whole wheat bread with honey roasted turkey breast, pepperjack cheese, veggies and mustard. It was all made fresh right in front of you!

IMG_1073 IMG_1074

This sandwich was huge and satisfying so I only ate half and saved the other half for leftovers. We got free doughnuts for being first time visitors and Zach got a coffee creme, Vicki got a lemon and I got a chocolate PB.

IMG_1075 IMG_1076

I took a bite of each of theirs and ate barely over half of mine (Zach finished it). Once we were done we walked through the store, aisle by aisle, oohing and aahing over the products.

IMG_1079

We came away with such an incredible haul. I have such a fantastic, generous mother-in-law to take us their and get us some nourishing, wholesome food! After our shopping experience we headed to Wilson Wines…or we thought we did. We went where our GPS told us and there WAS a Wilson sign, but all we could find was an older house and a barn. We saw a sign that told us to head 2 stop signs down and take a right so we did that and ended up in the middle of nowhere.

IMG_1081

After getting lost we called the winery and found out that we had been at the right place. After the house and suspicious building…

IMG_1082 IMG_1083

We ended up having a phenomenal time. We did a tasting of several wines (with little cracker bites)

IMG_1085

IMG_1084 IMG_1087

and really enjoyed talking with the woman doing our tasting. We ended up really enjoying this country-fied winery!

IMG_1088

Drove home and can’t stop raving about our great afternoon! Thanks for such a wonderful day Vicki!

IMG_1090

 

350 miles. 38.5/200 running miles.

Leave a Reply

