CHICKEN TURNED TO FISH

18 Apr

Thursday Evening

Gym tonight was 30 minutes on the treadmill at an incline for 1.86 miles and 219 calories. By the time I got home I knew that I would not be doing Cardio Abs tonight, 3 workouts was enough for me both my body and legs were telling me. I’ve decided that I will do it first thing in the morning as my booty call instead of my usual 30 minutes on the gazelle.

Dinner was quite wonderful tonight! The main course was a bit of an adaptation. I got the recipe from “Easy Dinners, Healthy Recipes” for Lemon Chicken but turned it into lemon tilapia instead.

IMG_1040

I figured if you could do it with chicken then why not with fish? So I coated tilapia filets in a mix of flour + pepper and cooked them in a bit of butter in a skillet. While that cooked I had the chives and saffron couscous that Vicki brought me fluffing in water in a different pot. When the fish was cooked through I removed it and kept it warm while making the sauce. I cooked lemon juice, chicken broth and cornstarch in the same skillet until thickened. Added green onions and cooked a bit longer. Asparagus cooking in yet one more pan…quite the busy stove!

Lets start with the asparagus, I left mine plain and unseasoned. All that I did was cook it in a bit of olive oil spray and left it alone, it needed no other help!

IMG_1039

 

Now the fish.

IMG_1038

 

The fish and the crust on the fish was fantastic but this sauce was SO lemony. Way, way too much lemon. I even thought that it sounded like quite a bit when reading the recipe. I scraped the sauce off and used the tiniest bit for flavoring and that was much, much better.

The real highlight of the meal though was that couscous!!

IMG_1037

 

Such good flavor, such good consistency…I am really looking forward to visiting this Amish store. 🙂 Now Zach and I are watching “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”!!! Zach bought it for me as a surprise and I had to go on a hunt for it this morning. I am afraid I pretty much squealed with delight at finding it. 🙂 SO very excited to add this to the rotation of Harry Potter and LOTR movies!

Just realized I didn’t update my mileage last night! Oops! Last night= 340 miles. Now today = 344 miles. All caught up.

Leave a Reply

