PLUM SAUCE FOR THE WIN

16 Apr

Tuesday Evening

I am truly glad that I took it easier today. That’s not always easy for me to do but I could tell I needed it, especially when my body was still pretty wore out come gym time. I went to the Y and did 20 minutes on the treadmill at a steep incline for 1.1 miles. I had to keep it quick so that I could get home and fix dinner for my in-laws!

Yesterday was my father-in-law, Ron’s, birthday so tonight we invited them over for dinner! On the menu were Lemon Tarragon Vegetables from “Easy Dinners, Healthy Recipes” and Coconut Crusted Turkey Strips from a Taste of Home magazine. I made the turkey strips and the plum dipping sauce exactly as the recipe said, so if you would like to see more about that- click the link!

IMG_0998

As for the veggies I chopped onion, zucchini, mushrooms and celery. Once home from the gym I boiled a small amount of water in a saucepan, threw in the veggies and covered with a lid until tender. Once drained they were tossed with pimentos, lemon juice, grated lemon peel and tarragon.

IMG_0997

The vegetables were pretty good, though I didn’t notice the pimento while eating at all, I would definitely love to do this with perhaps squash, asparagus…maybe some potatoes? The turkey strips were really good but the star of the show (for me) was the plum dipping sauce!

IMG_1001

I absolutely loved this!! I have never used plum sauce before tonight but I am now a fan. Apparently combining plum sauce, unsweetened pineapple juice, cornstarch and prepared mustard makes one incredible dipping sauce!

IMG_0999

It was also my first time to toast coconut flakes and sesame seeds. I know that this is a delicate technique, especially stovetop, but I did well and didn’t let them burn at all! The coconut crust was really excellent. Everyone else seemed to enjoy the dinner as well. 🙂

IMG_1003

After dinner we chatted for a long time and we got to try a juice that Ron and Vicki brought over. They’ve been juicing lately and this one was made out of collard greens, an apple, celery, asparagus, broccoli ?, ginger root and perhaps a bit more. Overall it was good! The celery taste at the end was a bit strong to me but Zach liked it! Watching Chopped now and bed soon. (What else? haha)

330.5 miles.

 

Leave a Reply

