SALMON CAKES

11 Mar

Monday Evening

A dreary, gray, rainy Monday does NOT make me want to go to the gym. So of course that’s right where I headed after work 🙂 I did 30 minutes on the treadmill at an incline for 1.89 miles and 182 calories.

Mondays have become “Chef Zach” night and I love it! So helpful to come home to dinner before Bible study! Tonight’s creation were Salmon Dill Cakes (which in our case were salmon basil cakes) from a “Semi-Homemade” magazine tear out.

IMG_0237

We changed up the recipe a bit to make it healthier using nayonnaise instead of mayo and FAGE instead of sour cream. In a bowl Zach mixed up salmon (canned that had been drained and flaked), eggs, basil and old bay seasoning. Next bread crumbs were stirred in and the whole thing sat for 5 minutes. After resting he formed patties and dredged them through cracker crumbs. In a skillet he heated some oil and cooked the patties until golden brown on each side. The nayonnaise, greek yogurt and spicy brown mustard were mixed together to make a topping. Dried basil sprinkled on with lemon wedges for squeezing completed the dish!

IMG_0238 IMG_0239

These were fantastic!! I haven’t had a crab cake (salmon cake, etc.) in a long time and it was amazing and according to my husband, incredibly low maintenance!

IMG_0240

We ate and then rushed off to Bible study. Next was the grocery to stock up on supplies for this week (what I wouldn’t give for a Whole Foods…) and now home and ready to crash. I am beat!

Why is it that I keep forgetting to update the mileage? With yesterdays 3+ mile walk I was at 193.5 miles. Now tonight I am at 196.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

