VALENTINE’S DAY CONTINUES

17 Feb

Sunday Evening

I was looking forward all week to this dinner!! But first, before the dinner. I knew that Zach and I didn’t have time for a Whole Foods run this weekend. I also knew that I was almost totally wiped out of some important products such as PB, Crofters, brown rice, Ezekiel bread, etc. The solution? We made a quick stop at EarthFare on our way to dinner! While EarthFare still doesn’t hold a candle to Whole Foods in my book, it was a much better experience than our last time there. It was also so convenient that it was right off the interstate and we could just pop in, pick up a few products and hit the road again. I even got a new brand of fun PB that I’ve read about on blogs which will make an appearance soon. 🙂

Zach and I got dressed up for our Valentine’s dinner as we always love to do.

IMG_9588

We headed to an amazing restaurant that we haven’t been to in a couple of years…The Melting Pot! This has been a special place to us over the years, going for each others birthdays, anniversaries, engagement, meeting when he was in Wisconsin for college…and now V-day! We started by picking our cheese fondue which came with the following dippers:

IMG_9591

Green apples, raw veggies, bread cubes and chips. We got the fiesta cheese fondue which had salsa and jalapeños and cheddar cheese blend and black pepper. I think that was it?

IMG_9593

Sooo cheesy good. We got a bottle of Menage a Trois to share for our dinner, which was clearly a blend of 3 wines. It was a bottle of red and I tried my glass and decided to see if I could pick out the grapes. I chose zinfandel, cabernet and merlot grapes and guess what? I was right on all three counts!!! I was so excited. 🙂 I am really refining my palate!

IMG_9596 IMG_9598

Next course were small salads. I got a California salad with tomatoes, gorgonzola and vinaigrette. Good, but I didn’t eat it all. This is not the main part of the meal here. 🙂

IMG_9600

Zach and I each got a meat entree to share. Mine was the fondue Fusion which came with the following: lobster, teriyaki steak (in the back behind lobster), bbq pork medallions (left), duck breast (front and center) and mushroom sacchetti (the wonton type wraps).

IMG_9601

Lots of fun sauces for dipping

IMG_9602

Zach’s meats on the French Quarter plate: (L to R) seasoned chicken breast, shrimp, andouille sausage, more shrimp and filet mignon.

IMG_9603

Veggies to cook. If you have never done fondue, you have a pot of cooking broth boiling and you cook your food for different lengths of time (according to the food) until ready. This looks like a lot, and while granted it wasn’t a little, the bites of meat are small. It’s typically one, maybe two bites per piece. A great way to get variety! We absolutely love the experience.

IMG_9604 IMG_9609

Can you say mmmm lobster tail?

IMG_9612

Finally it was time for what everyone goes for, dessert fondue! Here is the plate of goodies: bananas, marshmallows, strawberries, rice krispies, brownie pieces, pound cake pieces and a small sliver of cheesecake. Oh my.

IMG_9615

We got the milk chocolate “Cookies and Cream Marshamllow Dream” chocolate fondue. It. Was. Heavenly.

IMG_9616

 

We had such a great time and such a good dinner and are now home to watch the Walking Dead. I am guzzling water and contemplating how little I need to eat tomorrow because I am stuffed! Happy belated Valentine’s day 🙂

Leave a Reply

