SPINNING AROUND IN CIRCLES

13 Feb

Wednesday Evening

Could you guess what my exciting workout was tonight? Spin class!!! I used to be a regular spin class member addict from the fall of 2009 through the late 2010 but I burned out on it and eventually stopped going. I have been thinking for awhile now that I would like to give it a try again. Group classes (like turbo kick) are always good for me because they push me harder than I would typically push myself.

The verdict? Just consider me an addict again. 🙂 I have a feeling that you will be seeing spin class stats on Wednesdays now for a good while! It was a little tough because even though it had been forever since I’d been in a class, it felt like it was just last week and it made me feel as though I should be just as good as I always was…which was not the case. If I am being honest though, on the other hand it wasn’t as hard as I expected it to be! I know I am going to be feeling it tomorrow though! I biked for 20 miles and burned 350 calories in 63 minutes. For cycling miles the Tone It Up girls say to divide it by 3 and that’s what counts toward cardio mileage, so I’ll round down to 18 miles and count this as 6 (though I was close to 21!).

Dinner was partially ready at home! My crockpot meal was totally done and my green bean side dish only had to go into the oven for 10 minutes. This afternoon I washed and trimmed a lb. of fresh green beans and then proceeded to make up my own dish. I tossed them in a large bowl with the following: salt, pepper, olive oil, lemon juice and shallots. They roasted in the oven at 450 for 10 minutes and that was it!

IMG_9507 IMG_9508

The main dish was called Perfect Pork Chops and came from my “Fix-It and Forget-It” slow-cooker cookbook. I cut two onions into four wheels each and layered them in the bottom of the crockpot. Seared boneless, center-cut pork chops for a few minutes per side and then placed them on top of the onions. I boiled water and dissolved chicken bouillon cubes in it and added Grey Poupon mustard to make a sauce. Sprinkled the pork chops with pepper, doused them in sauce and closed the lid not to be opened until 3 hours later!

IMG_9512

Mom was my dinner company tonight since Zach had indoor soccer practice (keeping those teams in shape year round!). We loved dinner! Neither of us is a huge fan of onions, but despite how large they were they were great with the pork chops!

IMG_9509

 

IMG_9513

The pork chops themselves turned out fabulously! They were nice and tender and very flavorful. The green beans were a hit as well. 🙂

IMG_9511

IMG_9510

I love a good dinner success! After we ate Mom and I played a round of Nerts and she still beat me, but it was within 7 points this time. I’m getting better… Watching UNC with my husband (their biggest fan) and Steven and about to head to bed and read. Tomorrow ‘s the big V-day!

127.5 miles

Leave a Reply

