CAMERA ON THE ROOF

16 Jan

Wednesday Evening

Good evening! Did the elliptical at the gym for 29:35 tonight. The reason for an odd time? Because I stopped at exactly 3.25 miles so that I could even out my mileage. 🙂 Burned 176 calories while on it. Gazelle 1.5 + Shred .5 + Elliptical 3.25  = 51/100 for 100byVday!

The dinner I fixed us this evening is brought to you by “Easy Dinners, Healthy Recipes” and is called Peach-Sauced Pork. I took a pound of pork tenderloin, trimmed the fat and cut it into 1/2 in. rounds. The rounds were pounded thin and cooked in batches in a skillet on the stove-top.

IMG_8637 IMG_8638

This recipe has you using a can of peaches and I bought the kind in syrup with no sugar added, saving over 20g of sugar per serving! For the sauce I mixed a 1/2 C of syrup from the peaches, 1 1/2 tsp. of cornstarch, salt, pepper and 1/4 C water. The syrup was poured into the now empty and carefully wiped clean skillet and cooked (stirring constantly) for a few minutes until thick and bubbly.

IMG_8639

Add the pork and the peaches and stir til warmed through and that’s it!

IMG_8643

During nap-time I made brown rice to accompany this dinner so all I had to do for that was hydrate it with a bit of water and re-heat it on the stove. Also prepped was broccoli that I’d chopped and just needed to steam and season with Shoups.

IMG_8634 IMG_8644

This meal was EX-cellent!! Zach shoveled the first helping in before I could blink and went back for seconds while I was still on my first piece of pork! He could not stop raving about this dish and made me swear I’d make it again. 🙂

IMG_8651 IMG_8646

It was truly a hit and I WILL be making it again. Delicious and only 174 calories per serving! (Plus rice)

IMG_8648 IMG_8652

When I left the gym tonight God had painted the most beautiful sunset. You can always see the sunsets perfectly from the gym parking lot and I was broken-hearted that I didn’t have my camera or even my phone to capture it. It almost caused me physical pain to drive away from the beauty knowing that by the time I reached home the sky would have changed drastically and we don’t have nearly as good of a vantage point of the sunset from our house. The second I got home I ran in the door, grabbed my camera, shimmied up my roof, all to capture the last bit of beauty for you. 🙂

IMG_8635

This is a nice picture but it’s nothing compared to the initial sight upon leaving the gym. I guess I need to start taking my camera with me!

 

Leave a Reply

