AN INCREDIBLE SURPRISE

14 Jan

Monday Evening

I don’t know where to begin, so many great things about this evening! Let’s start with the workout I suppose. At the gym I did 20 minutes on the stair master (103 calories burned) and that was it because I needed to get home to work on supper! 100byVday total update- morning gazelle 1.5 miles, afternoon ZWOW .5 miles and evening stairmaster .75. I hate to throw a .75 in there when I have been making all my distances equal a mile or a half mile (or close enough that I just round down) but this was smack in the middle. With today’s 2.75 miles I am now at 40.75/100 miles! Getting closer to the half-way mark!

Next exciting thing of the night was a great dinner!

IMG_8559

This baked polenta with red beans and tomato salsa came from “Vegan Planet.” I really love polenta and haven’t had it in quite awhile so I was really looking forward to it. Making polenta is simple and then you just add in the spices you desire. Here’s how it went tonight: boil 3 1/2 C of water, season with salt and turn to medium heat, slowly whisk in one cup of cornmeal and then turn the heat to low stirring frequently for about half an hour. The polenta should get very thick and come away from the pan forming a large glob. I added cilantro, EVOO and S+P for flavor. The polenta was scraped into a glass dish and refrigerated until set. The great thing about polenta is you can make it even a day before cooking and just refrigerate until ready; I made mine at nap-time today.

IMG_8548

When I got back from the gym I cut the polenta into four large squares and placed them on an oiled baking sheet to cook for 20 minutes at 375 degrees. As the polenta cooked I made up a salsa by sautéing scallions, adding red beans, cilantro and a cup of tomato salsa as well as S+P and cooked on low until the polenta was done and ready to be topped.

IMG_8551

This tasted awesome! I am so glad I love beans now and the polenta was great. I am very happy to have leftovers. 🙂

IMG_8555 IMG_8557

Okay- most exciting thing of the evening: while cooking dinner the doorbell rang and Zach brought in a package and said it was for me. I opened it up to find…a MACRO f/2.8 60mm lens!!!! This is THE lens for close-up shooting (*ahem* such as food) and a very popular favorite among bloggers. I had done research on this lens and knew it was the one I wanted for my camera someday, but as it is very pricey I figured that day was far, far off. Apparently Zach has been saving for it and then used his birthday and Christmas money on it for a gift that he says is “just because.” !?!?!?!?!!! I have such an incredibly thoughtful, generous, kind and loving husband. I knew that anyway but he just continues to prove it day in and day out. I am absolutely dying to start shooting with it and playing with it and learning all about it! Hopefully tomorrow I will be able to start capturing my meals with it. I just feel overwhelmed and blessed to not only get to have someone like Zach in my life, but to be MARRIED to him!

To end, Bible study was great and we are settling in with Big Bang Theory to wrap up the evening. 🙂 Hope yours was delightful as well!

One Response to “AN INCREDIBLE SURPRISE”

  1. victoria January 15, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    Awe. Love this. I just found out I can reply to these emails. I thought I had to sign on to your blog.

Leave a Reply

